Urgent Letter Campaigns

 800px-MiddleMcCloudFalls-300x197

Winnemem Wintu Sacred Sites Threatened

 

In 2008 Sacred Sites International put Northern California’s, McCloud River Watershed on our 2008 List of Endangered Sacred Sites. This is still an urgent issue, especially for the Winnemem Wintu who stand to lose more than a dozen sacred places if the level of Shasta Dam  is raised by 18.5 feet.

You can learn more about the Winnemem Wintu at their website:
www.winnememwintu.us

We also recommend an excellent article, Winnemem Wintu Sacred Places, in the Spring issue of News from Native California

You Can Help! 
Participate in our Urgent-Action Letter-Writing Campaign

Please write polite letters, send emails (linked) or make phone calls, to the following decision-makers asking them not to raise the level of Shasta Dam because of the cultural devastation  and the loss of sacred sites which infringes on the right of the Winnemem Wintu to practice their religion.

Dianne Feinstein
California Senator
331 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
202-224-3841
senator@feinstein.senate.gov

Barbara Boxer
California Senator
113 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
202-224-3553
senator@boxer.senate.gov

Tom Birmingham
General Manager, Westlands Water District
400 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814
559-230-9470
tbirmingham@westlandswater.org

Katrina Chow
Manager, Shasta Dam Raise Project
2800 Cottage Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
916-978-5067
kchow@usbr.gov

Fran Pavley
Chair, State Senate Committee on Natural
Resources and Water
State Capitol, Room 4035
Sacramento, CA 95814-4900
916-651-4027
senator.pavley@senate.ca.gov

Jeff Kightlinger
Executive Officer, Metropolitan Water District
P.O. Box 54154
Los Angeles, CA 90054-0153
213-217-6139
officeofthegeneralmanager2@mwdh20.com

Jerry Brown
Governor of California
State Capitol, Suite 1173
Sacramento, CA 95814
916-445-2814
governor@governor.ca.gov

Michael L. Connor
Commissioner, Bureau of Reclamation
1849 C Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20240-0001
202-513-0501
mconnor@usbr.gov

Robert Quint
Senior Advisor, Bureau of Reclamation
1849 C Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20240-0001
202-513-0542
bquint@usbr.gov

 

 

 

Tibetan Sacred Lake

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>